The new Asus devices announced appear to be the ideal Windows 8 scenario — Ultrabook or Macbook Air like notebook with a full keyboard, serious horse-power and a touchscreen which allows you fully leverage the new Windows 8 interface. There’s also the VivoTab RT, which is running the Windows 8 RT Edition however personally, I’m just not ready to lose my keyboard yet and if I was, I would probably just go with the Microsoft’s Surface and grab the keyboard/case combo just in case. So, coming back to the VivoBooks, there are two types of notebooks, the S200 and S400, with 11.6 and 14 inch displays (both at 1366 x 768 resolution). The first one has a core i3, ULV Pentium 987 or ULV Celeron CPU, up to 4 GB DDR3 at 1333 MHz and 320 and 500 GB hard drives. The S400 on the other hand, can be spec’d to include a core i3, i5 or i7 CPUs or the ULV Pentium 987 or ULV Celeron. The CPU is coupled with up to 8 GB DDR3 at 1600 MHz. In regards to video, the graphics card is fairly basic with an on-board card for all the various versions. So far, this is best Ultrabook I’ve seen yet for Windows 8. Lenovo is also working on a similar device (X1 Carbon with a touchscreen) however until then, Asus has done a nice job right out of the Window 8 gates! For me, that makes all the difference in a Trackpad. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Asus Introduces its Windows 8 Touchscreen Ultrabook    We Like  - 79Asus Introduces its Windows 8 Touchscreen Ultrabook    We Like  - 55