Keep in mind this isn’t the end-all-solve-all solution for car problems, but every time the check engine light (CEL) comes on, an OBD reader can tell you why. The cheap one that I tested out only gives you the corresponding CEL code that you have to reference yourself, but that is as easy as typing it into Google. Some of the more expensive scanners offer detailed descriptions of the code, assuming that your car make and model is within its information database. Note that OBD-1 is for vehicles pre-1995 and OBD-2 is for vehicles 1996 and newer.

How to use it

Each OBD reader works generally similar, but there may be a few extra features depending what model you purchase. On the simple one that I bought it just plugs in and then gives you the option to read and scan the codes, or clear the codes completely to forcibly turn off the CEL. In almost all vehicles there is an OBD port located underneath the steering wheel or near the driver seat. If you’ve ever had emissions testing done this is often the same port that the state inspection plugs into your car. To use it, just plug in the OBD reader to the port on the car and it should automatically receive power and signal through the port. Then scan for the codes and write them down. Take the codes to Google, do a quick search for them, and then you’ll have a good idea of why the check engine light came on what how to fix it.

For example, in my car I had the engine light come on so I plugged in the little OBD reader. It pulled up code P0130, so I punched it into Google which took me to a forum that talk about that code in the car. It turns out it was due to an oxygen sensor not picking up readings and it just needed to be cleaned or replaced. I tried cleaning it first, and the problem went away. What did it cost me? About $15 for the reader and 15 minutes of my time. That is sure a lot less than a mechanic would have charged! Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Buy a Cheap Scanner to Save Big Bucks on Mechanic Fees - 33Buy a Cheap Scanner to Save Big Bucks on Mechanic Fees - 83Buy a Cheap Scanner to Save Big Bucks on Mechanic Fees - 95