The new Extreme 105 service will provide download speeds of up to 105 Mbps and a 10 Mbps upload. The service will be available starting in June.  According to a bill update that was sent out in March, Extreme 105 will cost $199.95 per month and have a one-time $249.00 installation fee.  However, USA Today recently reported that the price would be $105 per month on a 12-month contract as part of a triple-play bundle; no mention of an installation fee.  We’ll have to wait for the official announcement to see if they’ve updated the price or not. UPDATE: According to the official press release the price will be $105 per month in a triple-play package. Also, the package is available to 40 million customers across the U.S. starting today. Verizon currently offers a Tier 4 FiOS plan that boasts 150 Mbps download and 35 Mbps upload.  Their monthly rate is $199.99 with free installation.  The main problem with FiOS is that it only offers coverage to a fraction of the customers that Comcast does. So, what do you think?  Is 105 Mbps too fast, or not fast enough? You can use Google as a calculator to figure out exactly how long any given downloads will take at the speed. I think 105 Mbps download sounds great, but the 10 Mbps upload speed leaves a lot to be desired. I like the speeds that Comcast says you “can get up to.” In reality you won’t get anywhere near those speeds. I would really like to see some real world results comparing this new speed against the more standard 21Mbps. atm I’ve got 40 dollar package 2.6MB/s. It’s just to expensive for such speeds. Yea, 13.13MB/s or 105mbps is way to slow for the price. Just downloading open source software torrenting. Like back in the day, above I mention I was torrenting, it was ubuntu distro’s I was torrenting when I used ubuntu. But for the price of 200 bucks, I should be able to for an example download ubuntu alternative-dvd 3 gig size less than 2 minutes. So unless your using your home internet to power a Video sharing site or your a dorm room with 30 kids playing WOW, anything about 50Mbps in my opinion is just marketing and a waste of $$$. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Comcast Set to Release Residential Internet Service 60 Times Faster than DSL - 94Comcast Set to Release Residential Internet Service 60 Times Faster than DSL - 19